All times are UTC

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 139 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 10, 11, 12, 13, 14
 Post subject: Re: Review: Step to the Beat/Walk it Out
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2011 7:06 pm 

I have just started "enjoying" the routines with exercise bands on Sports Active 2, and yes, totally new muscles are being used. I was surprised that I could see new arm muscle in just one week.

PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2011 8:49 pm 

musicforall wrote:
I have just started "enjoying" the routines with exercise bands on Sports Active 2, and yes, totally new muscles are being used. I was surprised that I could see new arm muscle in just one week.

Exercise bands? Are these like resistance bands? Dynaband type things? I use dynabands, but not with the Wii; I just use the routine I found in a book.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 04, 2011 1:40 pm 

Yes, resistance bands - you see I have never used any before. Pretty cool way to increase the workout. Adding weights to WiiFit made my back and "bad" knee hurt too much. So far, with the bands, all I have is some sore muscles, in odd places. I guess there are muscles that the bands force you to use that you normally do not, therefore, more work out of the same movement. Yesterday I did the good old arm extension exercise, you know, the one WiiFit suggests you try a water bottle next time. I did it with both arms at a time with a resistance band, and that became a much more difficult exercise to accomplish. I could not even do ten, and now I have these little sore places under my arms that I can only feel when I put my arms over my head. The Sports Active wants 4 days on, 3 days off, so I am alternating WiiFit and Sports Active now, and doing WIO at night when I feel I could use some more exercise before going to bed. Since I have only finished five days of SA exercise, it is still a lot of fun to see what each day will bring. I like the way it mixes it up - yesterday was apparently an arm day, very thankful it was not another squats